Walgreens: Diapers and Scrubbing Bubbles

So Walgreens has their Balance Rewards Program. This allows you to get sale prices (that’s right, no card no sale my friends) and earn reward points on items you buy. Well, a lot of couponing sites seem to be all about “rolling”, which means taking the rewards points you earn on one transaction then using another to redeem them. Sure, this is great. If you don’t mind standing at Walgreens for five transactions. For me, I have two kids and they’re impatient enough.

Also, the “rolling game” as I call it usually entails buying useless crap, which is a waste of hard couponing work and earned Walgreens Balance Rewards — if you ask me. I’ve noticed some, for example, will have you buy toothpaste in one transaction, nuts in another, an eraser (yeah you read that right) in the other and so on and so forth with useless crap. Each transaction literally has one or two items only and you’re just buying stuff to roll points, get register rewards, and redeem everything the same day. How is that savvy? Then you spend $5 for like $17 worth of goods. Great, but did you need that stuff? Didn’t think so.

I buy what I need. Walgreens Balance Rewards are awesome, but I use them to get free stuff I really need. When I earn rewards, I make sure I earn them on stuff that was free. That way when I redeem them I’m using free money on stuff coupons/sales don’t normally get me for free.

Today, for example:

I have 12,000 Walgreens Balance Rewards, but I can only access $10 (increments of 5,000 or $5 only). So, here’s what I did:

Bought (2) Huggies Slip On Diapers @ $8.99 each
Used (2) $2.00 off Huggies Little Movers Slip On Diapers
Used (2) $2.00 off Huggies Little Movers Slip On Diapers in Walgreens August Wellness Book

Bought (2) Scrubbing Bubbles Bathroom Cleaners @ $3.99 each
Used (1) $1.00 off Scrubbling Bubbles from Proctor and Gamble 7/28 Insert
(You can find the same coupon here at Coupons.com)
Used (1) $1.00/2 Scrubbing Bubbles Walgreens August Wellness Book coupons

Total after tax and coupons $13.11
Redeemed 10,000 Walgreens Balance Rewards or $10
Total OOP: $3.11

Even without rewards points redeemed that’s a killer coupon deal on Huggies. Seriously, each bag was 50% off. Yes please! I go through a bag (sometimes more) a week. At $4 per I just went to $16-$20 per month instead of $36-$45.

Those 12,000 Rewards Points I have were earned buying items that I got for free and earned ADDITIONAL Walgreens Balance Reward Points on. So, I didn’t just get something free, I just got $10 in coupon money, essentially, to buy diapers and two Scrubbing Bubbles for $3.11. If you want to get real technical, before tax I really only owed $1.57 for 2-Huggies diapers and 2- Scrubbing Bubbles.

Now that’s using your Walgreens Points the One Cheap Utah Chick way.

(I’ll make a post here soon about how to make Walgreens Balance Rewards work for you so you can earn points on free products and buy more FREE products).

Leave a Reply

