Recycling Soap

Cheapskate Cathy gave me a really cute idea for Christmas. I’ve got tons of bars of soap I got for free couponing, but we’re not really bar soap types in this house. Perhaps I’ll be melting them down and making me some cute gifts for everyone!

Thanks Cheapskate Cathy!

Ps – I heart your username — we’re kindred spirits.

Cheapskate Cathy

If you’re not truly convinced I’m really a cheapskate, this should do it!  What do you do with all those little pieces of soap once they are too small to use?  Recycle them, of course!

Here’s how you do it:

Keep all the little pieces together.

soap1

Grate the soap into fine/small pieces.

soap2

Fill a microwaveable bowl about half full.  I use a glass measuring cup.  Add enough water to wet lightly.  Add a few drops of oil.  I use olive oil because it’s what I have in the kitchen.  Mix thoroughly with a knife.

soap3

Microwave on high for 10-15 seconds.  Remove and stir.  After this first heating, add a little more water if doesn’t stir well.  It should be thick but pliable.  Repeat 8-10 times.  Stop when it is smooth and you can no longer see small chunks of soap.  Be careful because it will bubble up and may overflow…

View original post 109 more words

2 thoughts on “Recycling Soap

Leave a Reply

